Is God always there?

Blue Heron birdOne of my favourite places to be is lying on my back on a dock, on a lake watching the clouds float by. Like a child being gently rocked in a cradle, I am soothed by the sounds of waves bumping against the floating wood.

This past weekend, I had opportunity to indulge in this activity at a friend’s cottage. The lake was void of boats but the wind swept some waves into white caps. At one point, I got a rush of water over the side of the dock, waking me abruptly from my trance-like state. I looked up at the sky to watch the clouds rush by. I was amused to see at least three distinctly different layers of clouds. I remember the name of only one from my high school science days – cumulus. From my viewpoint, it seemed that the clouds formed varying depths of height. At some points, the sun’s rays were blocked entirely by clouds and it seemed that dusk was upon us. But then as the clouds blew across the sky, the sun would peek out and shower me with sparkles of light reflected against the water; only to be snuffed out once again by the next rush of clouds.

God’s love is like the sun. Even though we may not see the sun or feel the sun, it is there. Even when we cannot see God or feel God, He is there. Although we may only see clouds of disappointment layered with anger and unforgiveness, God is always with us.  God is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow just as Hebrews 13 verse 8 says, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” Don’t rely on what you see or what you feel, but know that God is always with you.

Blue Heron birdFor this God is our God forever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end (Psalm 48: 14 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.