What is the Sabbath?

Fall coloursI recently returned from a belated honeymoon with my husband. We stayed in a gorgeous hotel that featured a wood burning fireplace and therapeutic tub. It was the perfect opportunity to put up my feet and relax. One evening, after a fine meal, we returned to the hotel and noticed a computer sitting alone in the hotel lobby. I felt drawn to this machine. I wanted to check my e-mail. Imagine that. I had five days to be away from my palm pilot, cellular phone and computer obligations, yet I felt compelled to sit behind the keyboard and check in on work.

How ridiculous. We live in a world driven by technology. Yet instead of giving us more freedom, it seems to have shackled us further.

In the Bible, we are directed to take a day off. A day where we leave the worries of the week and focus our physical and mental energies on God. Now this is something we should be doing daily, but most of us don’t take even an hour out of our day to focus on God. We are commanded to take a day off. Silly really that we must be told to take time off? We must be reminded to relax?

The Ten Commandments express God’s unchanging standards for moral living. In Exodus 20: 8, we are told to “Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God.” We know that Jesus is the new covenant because He fulfilled the law, but He still wants us to follow the spirit of the law.

After my vacation, I returned refreshed and rejuvenated. I was ready to tackle my regular routine with renewed vigour and enthusiasm. Imagine if I did this once a week. Imagine how much better I would feel on Mondays if I only did what God asked of me.

Haliburton lakeObserve the Sabbath day by keeping it holy, as the Lord your God has commanded you. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God (Deuteronomy 5: 12 NIV.)

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Fitness Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.