What is tithing?

Bee hiveI finished reading an interesting little book called, The Treasure Principle by Randy Alcorn. In it, the author talks about what true riches are and how we can increase our joy.  This book is based on biblical principles and highlights Jesus’ teachings on tithing. Alcorn makes the connection between our spiritual lives and how we think about and handle money. He writes, “We may try to divorce our faith and our finances, but God sees them as inseparable.”

In the Bible, we are told to give a tenth of our earnings back to God. We can do this through our offerings at church. But did you know that this is the bare minimum of what we should be giving? I was astounded to find out that there are people who give away 90 percent of their income and keep only 10 percent for themselves. But looking closer, it makes sense. The Bible clearly states that the more you give, the more you will receive. Alcorn writes, “Giving jump-starts our relationship with God. It opens our fists so we can receive what God has for us.” God even implores us to challenge Him on this (Malachi 3:10 NIV).

Personally, I have experienced this very principle in a variety of ways. I have been very fortunate to receive gifts of clothing for my kids from older cousins and friends. I, in turn, have passed along my children’s clothes to smaller kids. But we never seem to be able to give away more clothes than we receive. I’m convinced that if I were to empty my children’s closets and give their clothes to those less fortunate, the closets would fill again quickly. This has been my experience with furniture and food as well. It seems the more I give away, the more I receive in turn. And the more I give away, the more joyful I feel.

Bee hiveSo it only makes sense to me that God will bless the giver as He says in His word. I need to be obedient and tithe a tenth of my earnings back to Him. Perhaps I’ll go for fifteen percent this month. Alcorn writes,

“Jesus promises that those who sacrifice on earth will receive ‘a hundred times as much’ in heaven (Matthew 19:29).

That’s 10,000 percent – an impressive return.”

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Money Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.