What are you wearing?

Maple leafSome days when I taught at the college, I felt like I was not much older than my students. We got along well and could joke together and I thought, “Yeah, I could go out for a coffee with this person.” But then I think that they would probably want to go out for a beer and I realize just how far I’ve come since my university days.

Another reminder is the clothing that my students wear. To think that many people have nightmares about going to work in their pajamas, yet some students wear pjs as if they were regular clothes. And the choice of language leaves me many times just smiling and nodding because I haven’t a clue how to respond.

But the main difference I noticed is how far my faith has grown. T-shirts that boldly state, “Music is my salvation” now offend me. I found myself wanting to take this student aside and ask if they truly understood what it was that they were wearing.

Another student wore a t-shirt from a band that I must admit I listened to in my junior years. It was ACDC and on the back it listed a number of songs from their album. One of those songs was, “Hell ain’t that bad a place to be.” I found myself stopping the student just to make sure that I had read it correctly. I bit my tongue before asking him if he truly believed that.

Am I turning into an old fuddy-duddy or is it that I am now more aware of the truth? I still feel young at heart. I still have a good sense of humour. I still like to “party” – but just not in the ways that I used to. I now realize the significance of my choices. I now realize that what I listen to and what I wear represent much of what I believe.

Red maple leafDo not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says (James 1:22 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.