What does God hate?

Coloured leavesWhen I was younger, I used to love to read my horoscope in the newspaper. I always wanted to know what kind of day I was going to have. I also played with an Ouji board, asking it questions and feeling the plate slide along the board. And I can remember a time when I participated in a séance to summon the dead. Pretty creepy stuff, but I played along.

I was never entirely comfortable with any of these things and now as an adult I know why. Although many people may scoff at the thought of witchcraft and the black arts, I believe them to be true. And I know now that it is something that God does not want us doing.

In the Old Testament, the biblical account of King Manasseh of Judah talks of his 550-year reign of evil activity including such things as rebuilding pagan shrines, worshipping the stars, practicing witchcraft, consulting with psychics, and sacrificing his sons. 2 Chronicles 33:6 says, “He sacrificed his sons in the fire in the Valley of Ben Hinnom, practiced sorcery, divination and witchcraft, and consulted mediums and spiritist. He did much evil in the eyes of the Lord, provoking Him to anger.”

In the New Testament, Paul writes a letter to the church in Galatia and describes how the gospel is to be applied to our daily life. In Galatians 5:19 Paul writes, “The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.”

Tree in fallI used to think that reading tea leaves and having my children’s astrology charts done according to their birth date was just child’s play. Now I realize that God sees these things as evil and I don’t take them so lightly anymore. I have since destroyed the Ouji board and astrology charts, and no longer read my horoscope. Now that I know God does not want me doing these things, I won’t be doing them.

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.