What is the joy of knowing God?

Red berries“Have fun,” my husband called as I left for my dentist appointment. I took my accounting textbook to read in the waiting room. Sitting in the dentist office, I giggled to myself thinking that reading such a topic as accounting while I waited for my dental appointment was the epitome of irony. Fun? I think not.

Yet why not? Life is to be enjoyed, not endured. And although my circumstances did not set up a joyful environment externally, I could still find joy inside. The Hebrew definition of joy from the Old Testament is mirth and pleasure. The Greek definition of joy from the New Testament is calm delight. My brother explains joy as a satisfaction – like when your back is in pain from a job well done in the garden.

Two of Jesus’ disciples sat up all night, singing and praying even while they were shackled in a cold prison cell. Paul said that he would be content no matter what his situation. How can this be? Because they had inner joy. They had knowledge of God and had accepted and believed. This gave them joy beyond their immediate situation.

I remember when I came out of the baptismal waters; I too, felt this joy. It was overwhelming and felt like it had saturated my entire being just as the water soaked my robe. The joy of knowing the Lord supercedes any situation, even sitting in a dentist chair studying accounting.

Berry treeI know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want (Philippians 4:12 NIV.)

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.