What will heaven be like?

Sunlight through the treesThis morning, when I walked the children to the bus stop, such a thick fog rolled in that we couldn’t see ten feet in front of us. The air was heavy with droplets of moisture and void of the sun’s hot rays. It was the kind of morning that I wanted to return home, light a fire and curl up with a good book.

It was not like the day before. It had started with a large orange and yellow sun greeting us over the hill, had stayed sunny all day, and had ended with the sun setting in a fiery display of reds. I was compelled to stay outdoors and enjoy the day.

The weather can have an amazing effect on my mood. Although I haven’t researched this in depth, I wonder if I suffer from SAD – Seasonal Affective Disorder. This is an exaggerated form of symptoms associated with “winter blues” such as tiredness, weight gain, and difficulty getting out of bed. Autumn has historically been a tougher time for me, especially with the decreased amount of sunlight hours.

If I could have it my way, each day would be full of sunshine and blue skies, and the rain would come in the evenings.

This is one of the reasons that I am not afraid of death. Not that I’m morbid, but I am looking forward to spending eternity in heaven. Did you know that there is no need for the sun because God’s glory lights up heaven? God’s presence alone is what brightens heaven. This doesn’t mean that there won’t be a sun but its light will be eclipsed by the great light coming from God. God will be our light and life and we will be freed of darkness forever.

Sunlight through a treeThe city does not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gives it light, and the Lamb is its lamp (Revelation 21:23 NIV.)

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.