Why does God allow pain?

Fuscia flowerThe trail beckoned me to explore it. It had a floor of stone and wood chips and was wide enough for a small vehicle. I had an hour to myself so I laced my running shoes and started on my walk.

I enjoyed the gorgeous scenery all around. Trees overhanging created a canopy of green and yellow. Streams of water flowed under an old wooden bridge. Blue jays and chickadees called to each other. The wind tossed poplar leaves that made a sound like rushing water. I hoped to spot a moose, but prayed not to see a bear. Unfortunately (and fortunately) I didn’t see either. I had hit the 30-minute mark and with no end in sight, I decided to turn around.

Descending a small hill, I felt a few drops of rain. Looking up to the sky, a big black cloud loomed over me. The drops turned into a spray and the spray quickly changed to a shower. I pulled my hooded sweater over my head and walked closer to the edge of the trail to steal shelter from the trees.

I whispered a prayer to God, “Lord, will You stop this rain until I get home?” His response to me was, “No, but I will give you this” and with that a burst of sunshine came through the clouds. A sun shower. I smiled. God reminded me that there are times in life when we are in a situation that we may not like and although we may want God to rescue us, He may choose to let us experience the pain for reasons we may never understand. He may not pull us out of the trouble or stop the ugliness altogether, but God will never leave us. He will always be with us through it. He is like the sun in a sun shower.

Cuban cactusWe are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed (2 Corinthians 4:8-9 NIV.)

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Fitness Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.