What is the Fruit of the Spirit?

Medd's Mountain, MillbrookThe Lord checked my spirit the other day. It seems my pride can rise up like a black Halloween cat and act just as scary. It can lash out with sharp words just as the cat scratches with its claws. When my pride was bruised I became defensive.

From somewhere deep inside, I knew that my behaviour was un-Christlike. This was further confirmed when I sat down to read my Bible and the daily devotion spoke on pride. I looked to the sky and smiled, “I get it God. I’m sorry.” Then I had to work hard to keep my pride and ego from interfering with my desire to set things straight.

When I first started attending Bible studies, my small group met weekly and studied the Fruit of the Spirit. This fruit reflects the characteristics that each Christian should strive for. Galatians 5:22 says, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.”

Each day I struggle with these. I know that when I accepted Jesus into my heart I began a new life. But this new life is not shown by never sinning, but by a repentant heart, open to God’s Spirit.

I desire this fruit to be cultivated in my life. But I can’t do it on my own. In addition to being obedient to God’s commands to love, be patient, kind etc. I also need to depend on God’s power through the Holy Spirit to do this. I must commit my sinful nature to God’s control everyday.

When I listened to that small voice, and spent quiet time with God I was open to being disciplined and able to practice love, the first characteristic listed in the fruit of the Spirit. Some say that the first fruit is love, and all others are products of this love.

Meed's Mountain, MillbrookThus, by their fruit you will recognize them (Matthew 7:20 NIV).

This means that people will know that I am Christian when I openly practice these qualities in my life.

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.