What is Karma?

Boats at a dockOne of the best ways I’ve found to improve my mood is to watch a comedy movie or television show. One show in particular leaves me giggling. Although some people may balk at me for watching such a show, I find it easy to glean the good and funny material, and leave the rest. It’s a relatively new show called, “My Name is Earl”. On the Website it reads, “Earl has taken one too many wrong turns on the highway of life. However, a twist of fate turns his life into a tailspin of life-renewing events. Earl won a small lottery, and, after an epiphany, he is determined to transform his good fortune into a life-changing event as he sets out to right all the wrongs from his past.” Earl believes in karma and frequently explains to his brother, “Do bad things and bad things happen to you. Do good things and good things happen”. The show’s episodes revolve around Earl trying to do good things.

In one episode, Earl worked at a fast food restaurant with a mean boss. When Earl is humiliated by his boss in front of his brother he explains, “Karma’s given me a whole new outlook on life. It’s not my job to punish people who are mean to me it’s karmas. People like that always get what they deserve.” I found this line of particular interest because of my study on forgiveness. I agree with Earl that it is not our job or even our privilege to vindicate ourselves. However, it is not “karma’s” either. Instead, we need to forgive and let God handle dishing out the justice. In the Bible, it tells us that human errors result in imperfect justice, but God knows all things and He knows best how to see that justice is done. We need to leave room for God’s wrath.

In Paul’s letter to the Romans, he writes, “Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: ‘It is mine to avenge; I will repay,’ says the Lord.” It’s not my job or anyone or anything else’s job to enact justice; it is God’s alone.

View from dockFor I, the Lord, love justice (Isaiah 61:8 NIV.)

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Media Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.