The Book of Life

Lilly flowerAs a writer, I love to see my name in print. It means I’ve been published. My first experience with seeing my name on paper was when I mailed a letter to the editor. The newspaper even sent a photographer to my home to take a photo of me to include in the feature.

Since then, I’ve authored a few books, contributed to many others, and written over a dozen articles. The thrill is always the same. But none so thrilling an experience as the one my friend shared with me.

She had flown overseas to meet with family members she’d never met before. She felt small and insignificant as each told of their prestigious jobs, their honoured awards, their well-known names. They travelled in rich circles with other famous people. Not only were they published in magazines and books, but they were also written about.

My friend returned to her room deflated and sad. She cried out to God, “Lord, I’m such a simple woman. I’ve not won awards. I don’t have an impressive resume. My name isn’t written in any important books.”

God responded to her, “My child, your name is written in the most important book of all. The Book of Life.”

Water lily“He who overcomes will, like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out his name from the book of life, but will acknowledge his name before my Father and his angels” (Revelation 3:5 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Book of Life

  1. Pingback: Blog of the Year Award | MainWriters: Faith and Family

Comments are closed.