Thou Shalt Not Steal

Ocean viewThou shalt not steal.
But it’s only a pen! No one will even notice it.

Thou shalt not steal.
It’s a stupid pen! Everyone does it. It’s not a big deal.
Thou shalt not steal.
Fine! I’ll return it to work in the morning.

I’d been convicted. This little pen that I wanted to use at home became a lesson in living the true Christian way. God wanted me to not only profess to be Christian, but to truly live His way.
The pen incident was on a Wednesday. On Friday, God convicted me once again.

Thursday was a holiday from work, so many employees opted to take the Friday off to make it an extended weekend. I didn’t have the luxury of doing this, so I found myself as one of a handful of employees at work that day.

Oh, what an opportunity to take longer breaks, to take an extended lunch hour, to leave early from work. I could take full advantage of this situation.

But could I? My spirit was checked as I prepared for my first morning break. I felt God saying that I worked for Him, not just my boss. I couldn’t skip out on God. I couldn’t cheat Him out of His time. In the end, I didn’t take longer breaks, I didn’t take an extended lunch hour, and I even ended up staying 15 minutes later to finish my work!

God wants me to live as a Christian, not only on Sundays but Monday to Saturday too.

Atlantic Ocean“So I tell you this, and insist on it in the Lord, that you must no longer live as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their thinking. They are darkened in their understanding and separated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them due to the hardening of their hearts” (Ephesians 4:17-18 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.