God’s Timing

Caught a frogMy son asked, “Mommy, can I watch a movie?”

My answer was, “Yes, in ten minutes.”

His response started out as mild whining and then escalated into a full temper tantrum because he had to wait ten whole minutes. These ten minutes may have felt like a very long time for a child, but not the parent.

Just as we ask for our prayers to be answered God may indeed be saying, “Yes, but there is unfinished business that needs to be taken care of first.” However, we assume that since our prayer is not answered right away, God has answered, “No” or maybe He did not even hear our prayer.

I remember when I had listed my home to sell. I wanted to sell it the very first day and even expected the very first people to view the house to make an offer. You can imagine my disappointment when the first showing did not yield the desired results. Neither did the second, nor the third, fourth or fifth showings. I was distraught. I thought God was ignoring me. Maybe I had done something wrong and He was punishing me. Maybe He didn’t even hear my prayers. Maybe we weren’t supposed to be moving. All kinds of thoughts ran through my mind and I entertained each and every one.

What I know now, that I did not know then, was that God’s timing is very different than mine. Looking back, I know there are many good reasons that we were not ready to move when I wanted to. It is said that hindsight is 20/20, but God knows the past, the present and the future. We should not question His timing. We should accept that He knows best and accept that our prayers will be answered in His timing. 

My son may not have understood why I asked him to wait ten minutes but I knew that I had to finish peeling potatoes for his dinner that evening, and if I did not do it then it may not have been done. I asked him to wait for his movie in order for him to have a nutritious dinner later. I knew the reason and that was good enough. 

We should expect the same when we pray to God. Know that He knows best and He has the best timing. And many times His answer is, “Yes, but wait”. So instead of becoming impatient and trying to handle things in our own strength, we should live in the knowledge that God has heard our prayer and leave it up to Him to answer in His awesome time.

Instead of being happy that he would eventually get a movie my son pouted about when he would get what he had asked for. How many times do we pout about God’s timing instead of being grateful for what we do get?

Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion. For the LORD is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him (Isaiah 30:18 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Family Meets Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to God’s Timing

  1. Kimberley, I love this blog title and look forward to the stories you’ll be telling us about our faithful God.

    This one’s so true, and I think everyone can relate. What caught me specifically was your sentence, “All kinds of thoughts ran through my mind and I entertained each and every one.” Entertained. All kinds of thoughts will come, that’s a given. But too many times the ones we should send packing, we invite in and offer a comfy seat.

    Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Bonnie says:

    Kimberley – that’s a great illustration. Sometimes I do feel like wailing like my one-month old when I’m as tired as she is, but I hadn’t thought of the fact that we whine like kids when God doesn’t answer our prayers the way we want. 🙂

  3. Jan says:

    Hey Kimmy,
    Way to go. I knew you had a passion and God led you to it!! Confirmation, affirmation … congratulations.
    love ya,
    Jan

  4. Fay Rowe says:

    Kimberley,
    I love this post, and I dearly love the scripture you ended with. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for being such a great example of “get-to-it-iveness” for the rest of us who attended the amazing Write! Canada 2010.

  5. Kimberley, I love your new blog, right from the picture in the header through to the end of your article. This topic, as Janet has already noted, is one of which we all need to be reminded. We do so often “entertain” thoughts that take our focus away from the Lord and His plans for our lives. Sometimes we even allow them to take us into times of deep discouragement. Then we wonder why things haven’t worked out. Our mindset plays a critical role in how we respond to God and how we live out our destiny.

  6. norma nelder says:

    Awesome, I love the new blog title and of course I love your writing…not so fond of waiting myself… what a great reminder that Gods timing is always perfect. Norma

  7. Brenda Leyland says:

    I recently heard Jenny Flintoft (AWHW.org) say that we should never, ever leave a place of learning without taking immediate action. I’d say you get 100% for coming home from that blogging workshop and just jumping in with your new heart venture!

  8. Mary Haskett says:

    Kimberly,

    How wonderful to be so inspired and share a story that I can certainly relate to! May God continue to keep the fire burning in your heart. I love the lay out of your site. The beautiful picture is so uplifting.
    Every blessing
    Mary

Leave a Reply

