The Invitation

Imagine standing at the altar, holding hands with a new ring on your finger, looking affectionately into your spouse’s eyes and saying, “I love you”. Now imagine that was the last time you said those words. 

I don’t know about you but I couldn’t get away with leaving those words at my wedding many years ago. My husband longs to hear me say those words each morning when I awake, during every telephone conversation, and when parting for the day. And I need to hear them in return.

My relationship with God is much the same. He wants me to say, “I love You” each and every day. It’s not enough for me to rely on past prayers to carry me through the day. It’s not enough for me to rely on past sermons to fulfill my spiritual hunger today. I need to work on my relationship with God, just as I would with my husband. I must invite God in. I must make it a daily invitation, just as I commit to talking and sharing with my husband everyday.

I have learned that the way to express my love for God and to invite Him into my life is through my prayers, Bible reading, and quiet reflection. In my prayers, I can talk with God. Through reading the Word, God talks with me. God wants me to spend time with Him everyday. He wants me to learn about Him, ask Him questions, and really get to know Him.

My marriage wouldn’t survive if my husband and I didn’t talk every day and openly express our love for each other. My relationship with God is the same. He needs to hear how much I love Him everyday, not just on Sunday.

It is good to praise the LORD and make music to your name, O Most High, to proclaim your love in the morning and your faithfulness at night (Psalm 92:1-2 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Family Meets Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.