Fairy Tales

“And they lived happily ever after,” I said with a quiet sigh and closed the book. 

“What’s the matter, Mommy?” my daughter asked. “Didn’t you like the ending?”

“Oh yes, Dear, it’s just that mommy is a bit tired,” I lied. How do you tell a young child that you don’t believe in fairytale endings?

I thoroughly enjoy reading with my children. I have read to them since they were newborns and have even memorized some of my favourite childhood books. However, it was not the story that caused me sorrow but that last line. 

Since I was a young girl, I had expectations of what my life would be like. I would fall-in-love-get-married-have-children-live-happily-ever-after. This is how I imagined my life to be. However, my real life did not have the fairytale ending I had envisioned. I was steeped in self-pity and sorrow.

A few years later, God revealed to me the error in my thinking. He asked me to examine my expectations. Were my expectations realistic?

My life could be better or it could even be worse – but only when I compared it to my expectations. If I learned to drop my own expectations then I could learn to be content where I was. I would not need to think or wish or want to be anywhere else. I could learn to accept my life as it was.

God has taught me to accept my life and even embrace it right where I am.

Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you (Proverbs 4:25 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Family Meets Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.