Fight the Good Fight

There once was a morning that my husband left without a glance my way. We had had a fight the night before. We did what we both knew we shouldn’t do – we went to bed angry. 

I felt justified in my anger. My husband accused me of doing something I didn’t do. He blamed me for something that wasn’t my fault.

Now in hindsight, the actual allegation is trivial and even a little humorous. But at the time it was hurtful. I felt bruised and offended. I felt that his words were mean and they were wrong. I set out to prove him wrong. Being organized, I knew exactly where to look to find the stuff I needed to defend my argument. I marched up the stairs – proof in hand – to put him firmly in his place. But then he shifted the argument. He took a different angle. This made my blood boil. All I wanted was a simple apology. A simple, “Yes, dear. You’re right. I’m wrong. I’m sorry.”  Was that so much to ask? But no, he stood his ground and added fuel to the burning argument. Voices were raised, doors were slammed, and papers torn. It ended only when we retreated to opposite corners of the house like boxers in a ring after the bell.

Looking back, I realized how easy it was for me to get upset. I ranted and I raved. I defended myself in actions and words. It was almost too easy to react this way. My human nature felt attacked and I went on the defensive.

After seeing the movie, “The Passion of the Christ”, I began to appreciate in a new way the human nature of Jesus. He was a man of feelings. He was a man who could feel the sting of words and the lies heaped upon Him. He was a man who could feel the pain of being accused of things He did not do. He could feel hurt, emotionally bruised, and offended. 

Yet He didn’t set out to prove them wrong. He didn’t seek an apology. He didn’t rant and rave. He didn’t defend Himself in actions and words. Instead, He took the beating. He stood silent as they lied and betrayed Him. In all His humanness He felt the ultimate pain of rejection. He took on the blame. He took on our sins and died on our behalf.

I sit in awe as I think of how easy it is to fly off the handle. It is so easy to feel offended, to feel rejected. And it is so very easy to feel justified in my reactions.

But He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon Him, and by His wounds we are healed (Isaiah 53:5 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Media Meets Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.