Small Miracles

My cats, Merry, Pippin and Sam, are indoor cats. Last night, they got out. After a desperate search outside, Pippin was returned unhurt. We found Merry, but not before she suffered a large scratch across the bridge of her nose. We gave up looking for Sam after thirty minutes of intensive searching around our home, the nearby woods, and our neighbourhood.

I felt tired and afraid for my lone cat outdoors. As it was getting late, we focused on getting the children ready for bed. After they were safely tucked away, I retired to my own bedroom. But I wasn’t there for long. My husband called from the living room that he had found Sam! Imagine my surprise to see that Sam was sitting happily indoors on the living room windowsill. I found this not only amazing, but I would call it a miracle.

Earlier, I had scoured the house looking for Sam, hoping he wasn’t outside, but he was nowhere to be found and didn’t come when we called to him. He also didn’t come when I shook the treat bag and gave the other two cats a snack. That he just showed up in the living room was a miracle.

I believe in miracles. This episode could be dismissed as an oversight on my behalf. I could say, Hey there’s Sam. Welcome back, pet him and return to the television. Or I could embrace it as a miracle; get down on my knees and thank God. I could look up to heaven and express my gratitude that my Lord and my Maker cares enough to return my cat to me.

During our search, I prayed fervently for the safe return of my little housemates. As I was calling Sam’s name in my neighbour’s backyard, I prayed that God would watch over him. I prayed that God would take care of him and not let him get hurt.

Now some people may think that it’s silly to ask God for such a thing. It may appear trivial and not worth His time, but I tend to agree with Corrie ten Boom who once said: “Any concern too small to be turned into a prayer is too small to be made into a burden.” And so I prayed for my lost cat.

When I reflect back over my life, I can see that God has performed many miracles and I am grateful. I pray that from this day forward I will be open to receiving the many more miracles that God has in store for me.

Your ways, O God, are holy. What god is so great as our God? You are the God who performs miracles; You display Your power among the peoples (Psalm 77:13-14 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Pets Meet Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.