Butterfly Lesson

Last night, if you were my neighbour walking by our home, you may have thought someone was being murdered. My daughter’s screams and cries were piercing in the echo of the bathroom. Why was she creating such a scene? She didn’t want her dad to take out her earring.

It turns out that while at play at school one day, she had bumped into a friend and it had hurt her ear. The ear then swelled and caused her earring to pull awkwardly in its hole. This aggravated the problem to the point where even a brush by her ear caused her to howl. My husband needed to see what was causing the pain and whether her ear was indeed infected.

But every time he leaned in to look, my daughter kicked up a storm and cried out in fear.

Standing by, I tried to soothe my daughter and remind her that Daddy was trying to help, not to hurt. I said, “Trust Daddy. It may hurt a little when he pulls the earring out, but if it’s infected we must treat it now. It’ll be better in the long run.”

This gave me cause to reflect. How many times do I beg God to stop the aggravation or minor pain in my life? Many times I kick up a fuss and create a scene. I am uncomfortable! I don’t like this! However, maybe in the long run I’ll be better for it.

God may be protecting me from greater pain down the road by allowing me to experience this discomfort. He may be taking care of things now in order that my future will be brighter.

It reminds me of the story of the little boy who came across a butterfly struggling to escape from its chrysalis. The boy took mercy on the butterfly and helped to split open the chrysalis to release it. However, the butterfly did not survive outside the chrysalis because it had not fully developed. What appeared to be a great struggle for the butterfly was actually helping to prepare it for life outside his home.

We need to keep in mind that although we may feel as if we’re suffering and hurting, God is ultimately in control. He has our best interests in mind and He’s taking care of us. It might not feel like it at the time, but we need to learn to trust our Abba Father.

Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love Him (James 1:12 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Family Meets Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.