God First

I have a friend who planned to seek God only after he got his affairs in order. He would rather spend energy on himself and his family first. He wanted to first figure out how he was going to handle his current financial situation and get his business off the ground. These things were priority for him.

I wondered if this was right thinking. Wouldn’t it make more sense to have God on his side before he tackled these things? Wouldn’t it be better to petition the One who knows the future? Wouldn’t it be better for him to ask God for help?

I’ve learned to seek God first instead of saying, “After this or after that, then I will.” Because there will always be a “this” and a “that”. There will always be trials – that is life. But trials without God on your side can feel stressful and exhausting. With God, the load is lighter. Having faith in Him relieves the stress. 

Once I wrote on the importance of routine and especially on keeping the habit of time with God first and foremost in my day. But then I changed my routine that very same day! That afternoon, I drove up north to present a workshop. I drove instead of walked; I visited instead of exercised. On the very day I had resolved to stick to a routine, my routine was shaken up.

However, I realized that my resolution wasn’t really to stay on track. It was to devote time to God. My resolution was to pledge my life anew to Jesus. Although my routine changed, and life threw a curve, I resolved to spend quality time with God first and foremost every single day. This I did.

On the long drive, I listened to a Christian radio station. I listened to the words and even sang along. I felt in the company of God for the whole trip. Once there, I went about my business as I had to, but for an hour in the early evening I stole away to a quiet room to read my Bible. It was refreshing.

My day was not routine. I was in a different city, eating different foods, with different people. But I felt great. I spent time with God and this alone made the difference in what could have been an anxious time. I could have stressed about the drive by myself in very wintry conditions. I could have focused on my anxiety about the important presentation the next day. Instead, I chose to focus on God.  

When I look to Him, I find peace and comfort. When my day starts with God all else falls into place. I have learned not to worry about the time spent with God – it is the best-spent time of my day. I must make a conscious decision to start every day with God.

If My people, who are called by My name, will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land (2 Chronicles 7:14 NIV).

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.