Be With God

I recently came across an old journal entry that read:

 

“I feel as if I have been fighting exhaustion this week. Nine-hour sleeps are not enough. The alarm sounds and it seems as if I had just crawled into bed. After morning chores I find myself hitting the couch for a catnap that ends up in a sound sleep. As well as tired, I am grumpy. The old witch has returned. Sometimes my anger boils over so quickly that I leave the room wondering if that was really me. I have a short temper, am tired and irritable. A million things keep floating around in my mind, but leave quickly before I can write them down. My house is a mess. I’m living for the weekends. I am depressed. I don’t know why. I don’t have an excuse. What am I doing wrong? I start my day with an inspirational prayer. I read from the Bible each day. I listen to Christian music. I pray with my children at meals and at bedtime. What am I doing wrong? What am I doing wrong that I must suffer this debilitating depression that robs me of energy and destroys self-worth? I’ve felt this way for too long. What can possibly be depressing me and even more importantly why can’t I lift myself out of it?”

As a new Christian, I expected that by doing all the “right” things I would not fall victim to depression. However, since writing that journal entry, God has revealed to me that it’s not in doing but in being that I can find peace. I learned that I couldn’t do it alone. I had to rely on Him each and every day. It is not enough to just learn about God, I had to spend time with Him. For someone like me who is a doer it was a hard lesson to learn. I had to sit still long enough to spend time being with God. Not reading or studying but just being quiet. All of the above was good, but I learned it is not enough. I had to quit talking and start listening. I had to find God in the quiet and stillness of my heart.

 

Be still, and know that I am God (Psalm 46:10 NIV).

 

About Kimberley Payne

Author -- Speaker Kimberley Payne is a motivational speaker and author. Her writings relate raising a family, pursuing a healthy lifestyle, and everyday experiences to building a relationship with God. Through her work, Kimberley hopes to inspire people to live their life to glorify God. You can visit her website at www.kimberleypayne.com
This entry was posted in Where Life Meets Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.